News from Progress Michigan

April 3, 2019

Contact: Sam Inglot, 616-916-0574,

Progress Michigan Announces Online Vote for 2018 Legislator of the Year

Award seeks to lift up elected officials who put people first

LANSING — Progress Michigan has named six finalists for its 2018 Legislator of the Year award. The award goes to an elected official who has demonstrated a commitment to a government of the people, by the people and for the people.

“Michigan saw a lot of elected officials turn a blind eye to the concerns of the people during eight years of total Republican control. But we know there are many elected officials working hard to make a difference,” said Lonnie Scott, executive director of Progress Michigan. “The Legislator of the Year allows our organization and our supporters to lift up some of the great work happening that may not get headlines. We look forward to seeing the results of the online vote and presenting the 2018 Legislator of the Year award to a progressive champion who truly puts the people of Michigan first.”

The nominees for Legislator of the Year are:

Representative Darrin Camilleri

Senator Stephanie Chang

Minority Leader Christine Greig

Representative Vanessa Guerra

Representative Jon Hoadley

Representative Yousef Rabhi

The online vote begins today and goes through Friday, April 12th. Anyone interested in casting a vote can do so here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment